Gallery

Don’t Feed the Weeds

Weeding

Sea Cadets weed the ‘decks’ of HMS UNDINE. They are using rakes to ensure that there are no weeds in the gravel surrounding their training ship at Bowness-on-Windermere, in order to keep it neat and tidy. One of the huts which forms the ‘ship’ can be seen behind them.

This article doesn’t have anything directly to do with gardening, but it is about what we cultivate – in our own lives and affecting others.

Recently, I had a discussion with someone (I’ll call them “Betty”) about the state of affairs in the United States. Betty was quite upset over the fact that, if you want to fly anywhere, you have an invasion of privacy. Everyone is a suspect and will be searched and their possessions parted from them – either temporarily or permanently. Now, probable cause is not a factor, and police aren’t allowed to search our homes or possessions without a warrant. But the TSA and NSA can do so with impunity all due to the Patriot Act and other legislation. It’s not constitutional, but there you have it. And yes, it is troublesome and reveals a growing state of control and invasion of privacy over the lives of citizens.

Betty was so upset that she went out and bought a gun and is taking lessons, for self protection. She believes the government will eventually become a police state (in a sense, it already is to some degree). She believes she is the “canary in the mine” – if she was willing to buy a gun to survive what she’s sure is coming in the future.

I believe that the state of affairs may come to that, with civil war, but it’s not necessarily inevitable. And even if it does, what can one do except accept what’s happening in their own country?

It felt as though Betty was trying to persuade me to do the same. I explained that I’m willing to accept my fate. She chastised me then, that then I will be killed. I said, that was fine by me, because if I’m meant to be shot and killed or jailed, that is my fate. I need to accept it with grace. She believes I’m a fool. I believe that the state of affairs may come to that, with civil war, but it’s not necessarily inevitable. And even if it does, what can one do except accept what’s happening in their own country? You can fight and hope to survive, or you can be a force of peace.

We say we’re a peaceful country, but the reality is, with the number of wars, protests on our own soil and other things occurring, we are not.

I went on to explain that, if someone is fearful and angry enough to buy a weapon, they are contributing to the consciousness of fear just as much as the rest of the world which is torn by war and violence. How does owning a gun contribute to peace? Living with that kind of fear and willing to hurt others to survive is not peace. We say we’re a peaceful country, but the reality is, with the number of wars, protests on our own soil and other things occurring, we are not.

As an intuitive, it came to me the number of years the US would be at war, just weeks prior to Bush declaring war in Iraq. Betty asked me what good it was to know this information if I don’t know what to do about it. She said it was utterly useless information.

The information was not intended for them, it was intended for me. And the reason was, to be a calming force in times when fear is out of control. I have encountered numerous people out of control and been in a relationship where my very life was threatened on more than one occasion. I know what it is to calm the tide of escalating violence. And if you can’t, then there’s nothing you can do, even with a gun, anyway.

The same night I had this discussion, I had a dream.

Betty was in the dream. I was living in a very large mansion with many rooms. There were many guests, all able to freely come and go as they pleased. We were having a party and everyone was happy just being together.

There was a strange noise outside and Betty was terrified. She told me it was a burglar and she wanted to catch them in the act. I was frightened but calm. I went with Betty to see what was happening. Betty was yelling at the person, accusing them of thievery and threatening them. Remaining fearful but calm, I came to see.

There was a young male and two females. He looked startled. Staying calm even though fearful inside, I asked him what he was doing there and what he hoped to accomplish. He carefully explained that he had come by to pick up some rich compost I had listed for free on Craigslist.

I couldn’t blame him for coming, as rich compost is as good as gold.

It came to me that I’d forgotten to remove the ad, so immediately apologized because all the compost had been taken already. I went on to tell him that I couldn’t blame him for coming, as rich compost is as good as gold.

Had I not taken the time to listen to him, Betty would have escalated the situation. Instead, she was fuming that she had been wrong and lost her cool while I remained calm. At that point, I awoke.

We have a responsibility to be calm, even with those whom we believe are trouble.

When I awoke, I remained in a meditative state for a couple of hours, reflecting on this dream and previous conversation. We have a responsibility to be calm, even with those whom we believe are trouble. We have the ability to calm a growing fear in the world. It’s a matter of being assured we’re not in danger. Our bodies will perish, either sooner or later, peacefully or violently. This we can’t help. But while we’re here, we can add to the goodness on the planet and not contribute more fear.

Don’t feed the weeds. They will take over if you don’t manage them, or allow them to take root too deeply. It does not mean they won’t come or be there.

We need rich compost, good soil, to grow and nurture the best thoughts in our minds – meaning, be responsible and productive. Be accountable to yourself and others. Don’t feed the weeds. They will take over if you don’t manage them, or allow them to take root too deeply. It does not mean they won’t come or be there. But it does mean we need an awareness of how to tackle them once they appear.

What crop are you growing?

2 comments

  1. ditto to your thoughts—…..you are right, “rich compost is as good as gold!!!!!” …..I don’t understand people that are living in fear all the time and they get to the point where they feel owning a gun will give them comfort. When you were telling your dream, I assumed she went outside and shot someone by mistake…which more often happens with those that own guns. They say if you have a gun more than likely it will be used ON you than you protecting yourself…good post and sound wisdom:-)

    Like


Leave a Reply

